Your Elements of Astrology — Water, Air, Fire or Earth

By Ani Dec 01, 2022
Each of the zodiac signs falls under an element: fire, air, earth, or water. The element the sign falls under gives it specific characteristics which that sign is known for.

Learning about each sign and how they express their element is a great way to deepen your knowledge of astrology. Additionally, understanding each element is a great way to learn about yourself and those around you! Keep reading to learn how each sign’s expression through each element.

The Fire Signs: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

The fire signs of the zodiac are full of passion, bright, outgoing, and lots of fun! These signs are action-oriented, love adventure, and tend to be a bit more adaptable than the other signs in the zodiac. You can check the compatibility of your zodiac element here.

Fire signs Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius are warm, passionate, fun, and outgoing!
Image Source:


Out of all the signs, Aries is the most impulsive. They definitely prefer to leap before they look. Their fiery nature makes them quite competitive. They always need to be first! Though they can have a hot temper, this sign isn’t known to hold a grudge. They don’t have time for that. Just like the strike of a match, they ignite fast and burn out just as quickly as they move on to the next exciting opportunity. 


Leo’s are the life of the party and enjoy being the center of attention. This is a warm and creative sign that may come off as a bit bossy or stubborn. However, they exude confidence and know how to ask for what they want when they want it. Leos are also passionately loyal. When they’re truly their best selves, they do their best to elevate others so their friends and family can enjoy the same success. 


Sagittarius is philosophical and adventurous. They love exploring the world and learning new things. However, they might not think before they speak and come off as too blunt for the sake of being honest. The fiery nature of Sagittarius makes them crave freedom, adventure, and exploration. They hate feeling restricted and are happiest when they can move about the world at their leisure, learning new things as they go. 

The Air Signs: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius

While fire signs in the zodiac are motivated by action and excitement, air signs in the zodiac tend to experience life through the lens of their mind. These signs are all about intellect, information, and communication. Check the strongest sides of your personality now!

Air signs Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius are sociable and love being mentally stimulated.
Image Source:


Gemini’s childlike nature allows them to explore the world in a way that’s full of curiosity and wonder. They love learning new things just for the sake of learning. They love to share and discuss ideas with those around them. Geminis don’t take life too seriously and can easily adapt to a multitude of social situations. Often, this sign gets wrongly labeled “two-faced.” On the contrary, they’re so adaptable and open to change that they easily move between ideas and opinions.


While the other two air signs in the zodiac are a bit more independent, social Libra thrives by enjoying all types of relationships. They love the mental stimulation that comes with beauty, art, and sensual experiences. Above all else, Libra values diplomacy. Being an air sign, they can easily set aside emotions in favor of making sure everyone gets along. 


Aquarius is fantastic at seeing the big picture and knowing where new and exciting things are happening within the collective consciousness. Thanks to this awareness, they’re always aware of the latest tech, gadgets, and innovations. Additionally, Aquarius tends to be philanthropic and deeply cares about what’s best for society as a whole. 

The Earth Signs: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn

The Earth signs of the zodiac are practical, patient, and grounded. They don’t make impulsive decisions and value working hard to achieve their goals. 

Earth signs Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn are grounded, stable, and practical.
Image Source:


This fixed earth sign is known to be the most stubborn sign in the zodiac. Like Libra, they enjoy the sensual side of life but in a way that brings comfort and coziness. Often people misinterpret Taurus’ slow and steady demeanor as laziness, but this earth sign needs to really know what it’s getting into before it acts. Once they’ve made up their mind, it’s a done deal. And it takes a force of nature to get them to change it. 


Much like Gemini,  Virgo enjoys obtaining facts and information. But while Gemini enjoys these things for the sake of curiosity and entertainment, Virgo takes a more practical approach and wants to put them to good use. They can be overthinkers and perfectionists, but they want things to be just right to achieve success. 


Capricorns are known for being the hardest working earth sign. Their most important goal is to make sure they build a foundation for the future. Because they’re natural leaders, this sign gets things moving and gathers a team to get things done. Even though they take their work seriously, they still know how to wind down and have a good time. They’re the epitome of “work now, play later.” 

The Water Signs: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

The water signs of the zodiac are known to deeply experience emotions and be connected to their intuition. Your sign is known for one particularly strong emotion, too!

Water signs Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces are emotional, deep and intuitive.
Image Source:


Because of their sensitive nature, Сancers tend to keep their heart behind their shell. This water sign can be carried away by emotions, so they must be careful not to give in to moodiness. Cancer is also known to be deeply nurturing and fantastic at caring for those they love. 


This water sign is the most secretive and mysterious of all the signs in the zodiac. They’re not afraid of dwelling in the depths of intense emotion and getting down with their shadow. Though they feel their emotions deeply, they’re adept at keeping their emotions under control.  


Pisces have a dreamy and otherworldly nature. They live in a glistening mirage with their heads in the clouds. It’s said that being the last sign of the zodiac, Pisces has walked in the shoes of every sign before it. This makes them super empathetic and intuitive, allowing them to feel deeply for those around them.  

Your truly PERSONAL prediction!
A new level of horoscope readings – try now!
Get Now!

What do you feel after reading this article?








Top Articles
Check our fresh and fun videos!